SSI News Blog

Settlement Services International has marked a major milestone in its 15-year history with today’s endorsement of a new Board of Directors which includes – for the first time – three independent members.

Among other changes, SSI announced it has adopted a new governance structure, becoming a Company Limited by Guarantee.

Since its formation in 2000 by the membership, made up of Migrant Resource Centres and Multicultural Services in NSW, the Board of Directors has been drawn exclusively from member organisations and their Boards.

Today’s announcement was the culmination of a year-long process designed to transition the organisation from an association to a Company Limited by Guarantee to enhance governance.

A new organisational constitution was ratified at the February 27 Special General Meeting of the SSI membership.

The current SSI Chair, Kamalle Dabboussy, will remain in the role for the next 18 months, during the transition period.

At today’s AGM, Mr Dabboussy presented the seven-member Board of Directors, which under the new constitution is comprised of three independent members and four member representatives.

The non-independent Board members are: Kamalle Dabboussy, Antoinette Chow, Lou Bacchiella and Om Dhungel. The independent members are: Lucy Taksa, Louise Petschler and Elisabeth Shaw.

Following today’s meeting, Mr Dabboussy said: “Today SSI members saw the culmination of the transition to a new Board and governance structure.

“We’re excited by the skills and capacity of the new Board members, each of whom brings something unique to SSI.”

 pdfSSI Annual Report 2013-20147.45 MB

Success stories

Bassam Maaliki, a 14-year-old student wins Youth Community Medal at NSW Premier’s Harmony Dinner

Bassam Maaliki, Youth Community Award Winner with The Hon. Ray Williams MP and Jada Mathyssen-Whyman goalkeeper for Western Sydney Wanderers.Bassam Maaliki, a 14-year-old student at Homebush Bay High School and founder of the social change campaign #uBelong, was announced winner of the Youth Medal at the NSW Premier’s Harmony Dinner on 21 March 2018.

Read more ...