• A travel ban has been put in place for all Australians, and effective since Wednesday, March 25, 2020Exemptions include citizens who normally live overseas; where travel is essential; where travel is in our national interest, where travel is on compassionate & humanitarian grounds. 
  • From 9pm AEDT Friday, March 20, 2020, only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia. Australian borders have closed to everyone excluding Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members. 
  • Australians abroad, if you wish to return home, do so ASAP. 
  • All travellers to Australia are required to self-isolate for 14 days.    

Travel restrictions are subject to change at any time, so do not travel if it is unnecessary and check updates regularly. 

States and territories can also apply their own restrictions, including closing their state borders and additional quarantine requirements. Find out more about restrictions in your state or territory: